Untitled Poem

my mouth sought to slay the elephant in the room
but the cacophany of silences were pervasive
in my eagerness for understanding, for release
I sought him while he sat at that dead end
flicking bits of world from his shoulder and muttering to himself
my presence seemed offensive, disrupting his agony w/ my own
and he paled at my love, flinched from my trembling touch
saw my scrambling to be close as a threat
i slid through his fingers onto the floor
should i go?….and he yanked me back coldly
and i, wedged between pain and longing
stopped singing
feared the open sky more than the hated cage

Leave a Reply

