Lament- A Poem

I opened my legs and you sat …
Smooth back to my stomach, your head resting on my chest
You looked into the night, heavy and somber
Silent
The world exploded today
Those scattered pieces pooled in your eyes and ran down your cheeks
Away from me, Away from the day ….gathering quietly in the night
I was speechless….. just breathing as I held you, skin to skin
Man to woman
Death took peace without forewarning
Leaving you with those pieces of the world to restore
But for a few moments in pitch black
Scattered and broken
Confused and afraid
Full of sorrow
And skin to skin
I held you to grieve
With nothing to give you but hush

Leave a Reply

